|
Skip to Content | Visit Sponsors -How to Job Search -Before You Search -Job Banks & Recruiters -Resumes & Cover Letters -Research & Target Employers -Network, Interview, & Negotiate -Salary Guides -Info for Recruiters & Employers -What's New -A-Z Index -About the Guide -Contact Us -Home ![]() The 2008-2009 edition of The Guide to Internet Job Searching is now available. Order your copy from Amazon.com |
The Riley Guide: Resumes & Cover LettersResume Databases and Distribution ServicesJuly 2008
Warning About an Unethical Resume Distribution Service
Most sites with online resume databases also host job databases, so they are listed in the appropriate areas under Job Banks & Recruiters. Most of these are also free for the job seeker. Please use these pages to find the best places for you to post your resume.
Warning About an Unethical Resume Distribution ServiceLately I have been receiving resumes from a service called e-resume.us, but I don't know who they are nor why I am getting resumes from them. So I looked at their website, and found the following statement:"Instant Resume Distribution.The funny thing is, I have never registered with this service as a recruiter because I am not a recruiter. So, how did my email address get in their distribution list? I don't know, but I have been trying for 2 weeks to get it removed without any luck. I looked at their site to try to figure out who they were, and found the following: e-resumes.netThis is a UK-based company. So why do they have a .us domain? And how about a phone number? Nothing. Contact email? Yes, there is one, but it doesn't seem to work. They want you to use their contact form, which I have, but they don't understand my request. "Please provide me with the correct email address you have registered with on our website." I sent them the one to which the emails were being sent, but I haven't heard anything from them. I also noticed as I went around the site that some pages are titled "e-CVs.net", so I looked at that site. It is the same site, just some language variations. So, I turned next to my favorite tool in looking for background information, a WHOIS database. Here's what I found for e-CVs.net. Registrant:and for e-Resume.us Mr Alex J BraganzaA phone number and email address was also noted, but I will not include them here. However, I did use his email address to contact him directly with my request to be removed from the list of recruiters on his site. He has not answered, and I am still receiving resumes. I have, however, heard from someone who's resume is registered there. Thank You for letting me know you received my resume. You're very kind! I have been reviewing my resume with a view to making some employment changes. I contacted someone at E-Resume.us, and she assured me that their resources included recruiters who contacted their website to fill positions that fit my profile. I'll take a look at your postings, maybe I can make some progress using that. I'll also request that E-Resume.us stop distributing my Resume, since a mass mailing is NOT what I had in mind. Uh-oh. Sounds like there is a real disconnect between what is being advertised and what is in fact happening. To make it even more interesting, as I look through more of his site, I find a third domain name cited on the Terms and Conditions page. This third domain, E-Resumes.net, is actually registered to another person. This makes me very uncomfortable since it essentially nullifies the Terms and Conditions portion of his website and brings this other domain owner into question. This site charges you, the user, for services rendered. Your money is being wasted by having your resume sent to someone like me who has no interest in seeing it. How many other unqualified or unscrupulous individuals are receiving your resume? And why can't I get my email address removed from their listing? I would recommend that you not use this service, and I might suggest if you have already registered and paid that you close your account and request a refund of your fees. The problem is, I don't know how you'll contact them to do this. I guess by airmail. A little update for December 2005: a recruiter who handles searches for lawyers called me. Seems she got "registered" for resumes with these folks too, once again without submitting her name. No, she can't get them to stop either. She also can't get them to refine her listing to give her only legal professionals. Seems like they can't get anything right. Top of Page | Site Navigation Links Resume Distribution ServicesI personally think of this as a "scattershot approach to searching," and I do not recommend you rely solely on this method of getting your resume into anyone's hands, but you want the information, so I'm providing it.
Top of Page | Site Navigation Links Lists of Resume Databases and ServicesThese sites maintain lists of databases where you can post your resume.
Top of Page || Return to Resumes & Cover Letters Copyright 1998 - 2008, Margaret F. Dikel. Permission to reproduce and/or distribute print copies of these pages is hereby granted for non-profit purposes only, except where noted. No changes may be made to these copies without the express permission of the author. All other requests for copying and distribution including electronic distribution must be directed to the author. Permission is granted for you to link to this page or The Riley Guide at any time, but the location address (URL) may not be hidden through the use of frames. Please read our disclaimers. The Riley Guide is located at www.rileyguide.com. How to Contact Us. |
Jobs, Career Resources, & Articles from The Wall Street Journal The Wall Street Journal Online Small Business Channel -- advice on buying or starting a business.RealEstateJournal -- advice on buying or renting a new home, apartment, or office. |